Here come the nominees of the European Film Awards 2022

    Today, the European Film Academy revealed the nominees of the main categories of the 35th European Film Awards. The award ceremony takes place on 10 December in Reykjavík and will celebrate the best of European Film culture.

    For the first time the Academy announces the nominations in a video presenting all nominated productions and protagonists.

    These are the nominations:

    European Film:

    • ALCARRÀS directed by Carla Simón, produced by María Zamora, Stefan Schmitz, Tono Folguera & Giovanni Pompili (Spain/ Italy)
    • CLOSE directed by Lukas Dhont, produced by Michiel Dhont, Dirk Impens, Michel Saint-Jean, Laurette Schillings, Arnold Heslenfeld, Frans van Gestel & Jacques-Henri Bronckart (Belgium/ France/ Netherlands)
    • CORSAGE directed by Marie Kreutzer, produced by Alexander Glehr, Johanna Scherz, Bernard Michaux, Jonas Dornbach, Janine Jackowski, Maren Ade & Jean-Christophe Reymond (Austria/ Luxembourg/ Germany/ France)
    • HOLY SPIDER directed by Ali Abbasi, produced by Sol Bondy & Jacob Jarek (Denmark/ Germany/ Sweden/ France)
    • TRIANGLE OF SADNESS directed by Ruben Östlund, produced by Erik Hemmendorff & Philippe Bober (Sweden/ Germany/ France/ United Kingdom)

    European Documentary:

    • A HOUSE MADE OF SPLINTERS directed by Simon Lereng Wilmont (Denmark/ Sweden/ Finland/ Ukraine)
    • GIRL GANG directed by Susanne Regina Meures (Switzerland)
    • MARIUPOLIS 2 directed by Mantas Kvedaravičius (Lithuania/ France/ Germany)
    • THE BALCONY MOVIE (FILM BALKONOWY) directed by Paweł Łoziński (Poland)
    • THE MARCH ON ROME (MARCIA SU ROMA) directed by Mark Cousins (Italy)

    European Director:

    • Lukas Dhont for CLOSE
    • Marie Kreutzer for CORSAGE
    • Jerzy Skolimowski for EO
    • Ali Abbasi for HOLY SPIDER
    • Alice Diop for SAINT OMER
    • Ruben Östlund for TRIANGLE OF SADNESS

    European Actress:

    • Vicky Krieps in CORSAGE
    • Zar Amir Ebrahimi in HOLY SPIDER
    • Léa Seydoux in ONE FINE MORNING
    • Penélope Cruz in PARALLEL MOTHERS
    • Meltem Kaptan in RABIYE KURNAZ VS. GEORGE W. BUSH

    European Actor:

    • Paul Mescal in AFTERSUN
    • Eden Dambrine in CLOSE
    • Elliott Crosset Hove in GODLAND
    • Pierfrancesco Favino in NOSTALGIA
    • Zlatko Burić in TRIANGLE OF SADNESS

    European Screenwriter:

    • Carla Simón & Arnau Vilaró for ALCARRÀS
    • Kenneth Branagh for BELFAST
    • Lukas Dhont & Angelo Tijssens for CLOSE
    • Ali Abbasi & Afshin Kamran Bahrami for HOLY SPIDER
    • Ruben Östlund for TRIANGLE OF SADNESS

    European Discovery – Prix FIPRESCI

    This award is presented in co-operation with FIPRESCI, the International Federation of Film Critics to a director for a first full-length feature film. A committee composed of members of FIPRESCI and experts appointed by the European Film Academy decides upon the six nominated productions.

    • 107 MOTHERS (CENZORKA) directed by Peter Kerekes (Slovakia/ Czech Republic/ Ukraine)
    • LOVE ACCORDING TO DALVA (DALVA) directed by Emmanuelle Nicot (Belgium/ France)
    • OTHER PEOPLE (INNI LUDZIE) directed by Aleksandra Terpińska (Poland/ France)
    • PAMFIR directed by Dmytro Sukholytkyy-Sobchuk (Ukraine/ France/ Poland/ Germany/ Chile)
    • SMALL BODY (PICCOLO CORPO) directed by Laura Samani (Italy/ Slovenia/ France)
    • SONNE directed by Kurdwin Ayub (Austria)

    Please find more information on the above nominations (including synopsis, cast, credits, and statements of directors – if available) here.

    The awarding procedure is a three-stage process. After the announcement of the shortlisted feature and documentary films, the 4,400 members of the European Film Academy have watched the selections and voted on the nominations in the feature film categories ‘European Film’, ‘Director’, ‘Actor’, ‘Actress’, ‘Screenwriter’, as well as for the nominations in the category ‘European Documentary’. The nominations in the categories of ‘European Comedy’, ‘Discovery – Prix FIPRESCI’, ‘Animated Feature Film’ and ‘Short Film’ have been selected by nomination committees consisting of a diverse range of invited European experts. Now the members of the European Film Academy will vote for the winners who will be announced at the European Film Awards ceremony on 10 December 2022.

    The winners of the Excellence Awards in the categories ‘European Cinematography’, ‘Editing’, ‘Production Design’, ‘Costume Design’, ‘Make-up & Hair’, ‘Original Score’, ‘Sound’ and ‘Visual Effects’ will be determined by an eight-member jury consisting of representatives of the different arts and crafts and will be announced on 23 November. The award winners of the ‘European Lifetime Achievement’, the ‘European Achievement in World Cinema’ and the ‘European Innovative Storytelling’ have already been announced and will be honored in Reykjavík.

    The European Film Awards’ awarding procedures are based on the Diversity & Inclusion Standards of the European Film Academy, as displayed here.

    The ceremony of the European Film Awards – the most renowned and prestigious award for European film – is presented by the European Film Academy and European Film Academy Production.

    If you have any questions do not hesitate to contact us.

    Printable stills can be downloaded here.

    The European Film Awards are supported by