Press Releases

51 Feature Films Selected

22 August 2017

It is with great pleasure that the European Film Academy and EFA Productions announce the titles of the 51 films on this year’s EFA Feature Film Selection, the list of feature fiction films recommended for a nomination for the European Film Awards 2017! With 31 European countries represented, the list once again illustrates the great diversity in European cinema. In the....[...]

15 Documentaries Selected

14 August 2017

It is with great pleasure that the European Film Academy and EFA Productions announce the EFA Documentary Selection, a list of 15 European documentaries recommended for a nomination for this year's European Film Awards. Ten documentary festivals have recommended to the committee one film each which has had its world premiere at the respective festival’s latest edition.....[...]

EFA Membership Campaign For Young Filmmakers

04 Juli 2017

Ken Loach and Małgorzata Szumowska Act As Patrons At the 52nd Karlovy Vary International Film Festival the European Film Academy (EFA) has launched a campaign to invite young filmmakers to become voting members of the EFA. „We want to encourage our young colleagues to actively take part in our Academy community and activities. We need their inspiration and expertise to bring....[...]

EFA Honours Aleksandr Sokurov

05 Juni 2017

On the occasion of this year's 30th European Film Awards (EFAs) and in recognition of a unique contribution to the world of film, the European Film Academy takes great pleasure in presenting Aleksandr Sokurov with the LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD for his outstanding work in the field of directing, dramaturgy and cinematography.Having first graduated in History, Aleksandr Sokurov....[...]

GOODBYE BERLIN WINS EFA Young Audience Award 2017

07 Mai 2017

Young Juries in 31 European Countries Elect German film by Fatih Akin  In a truly European vote, 12-14-year-olds in AUSTRIA: St. Pölten & ViennaBELGIUM: BrusselsBOSNIA & HERZEGOVINA: SarajevoBULGARIA: SofiaCROATIA: ZagrebCZECH REPUBLIC: PragueDENMARK: AalborgESTONIA: TallinnFINLAND: HelsinkiGERMANY: Berlin & ErfurtGREECE: AthensHUNGARY: BudapestISRAEL: Tel....[...]