Countdown: only few days left until the European Film Awards

    • 9 December, 19.30h at Arena Berlin
    • 1.000 international guests,
    • 75 nominees Awards in 24 categories


    On Saturday, 9 December 2023, this week, the European Film Awards honour the greatest achievements in European cinema. 1.000 international guests are expected at the festive gala ceremony at Arena Berlin where the winners in 24 categories will be awarded with the renowned European film prize. The award show will be streamed and broadcast live by 30 partners in 21 countries across Europe. The gala is starting at 19.30h (CET) and will also be streamed at

    Presenting the different categories will be among others: Serbian actress Branka Katić (THE KING’S MAN), Slovakian-Hungarian actress Alexandra Borbély (A SENSITIVE PERSON), French actor Lambert Wilson (MRS HARRIS GOES TO PARIS), Syrian actor Jalal Altawil (GREEN BORDER), Senegalese actor Seydou Sarr (ME CAPTAIN), French actress Ariane Labed (THE SOUVENIR PART II), Dutch actress Renée Soutendijk (SWEET DREAMS), Austrian actress Thea Ehre (TILL THE END OF THE NIGHT), French actress Guslagie Malanda (SAINT OMER), German director and author Leonard Grobien (MONDKIND), Romanian actress Alina Șerban (GYPSY QUEEN) and Swedish actor Stellan Skarsgård (DUNE).

    The festive gala will be moderated by German journalist and actress Britta Steffenhagen. Show act of the European Film Awards 2023 will be Philipp Johann Thimm performing together with Berlin Strings ensemble. Grammy-nominee Thimm is a multi-instrumentalist, composer and producer. At the Venice International Film Festival, he won the Soundtrack Stars Award, the David di Donatello Award and the Award for Best Original Score at Bari Film Festival. Berlin Strings is a classically trained chamber ensemble specializing in collaborations with pop and indie musicians, as well as cinematic compositions.

    Among the attending 75 international nominees are German actress Leonie Benesch (THE TEACHERS’ LOUNGE), German actor Christian Friedel (THE ZONE OF INTEREST), Italian director Matteo Garrone (ME CAPTAIN), British director Jonathan Glazer (THE ZONE OF INTEREST), Polish director Agnieszka Holland (GREEN BORDER), German actress Sandra Hüller (ANATOMY OF A FALL, THE ZONE OF INTEREST), British actress Mia McKenna-Bruce (HOW TO HAVE SEX), Finnish actress Alma Pöysti (FALLEN LEAVES), German actor Thomas Schubert (AFIRE), French director Justine Triet (ANATOMY OF A FALL), Finnish actor Jussi Vatanen (FALLEN LEAVES) and many more.

    The winners of selected categories have already been announced and will be present: Spanish filmmaker Isabel Coixet (EUROPEAN ACHIEVEMENT IN WORLD CINEMA), Lithuanian producer Uljana Kim (EURIMAGES INTERNATIONAL CO-PRODUCTION AWARD), British actress Vanessa Redgrave (EUROPEAN LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD), Turkish entrepreneur Güler Sabancı (EUROPEAN SUSTAINABILITY AWARD – PRIX FILM4CLIMATE) and Hungarian filmmaker Béla Tarr (HONORARY AWARD).

    Furthermore, many international colleagues – actors, actresses and directors – will also be attending the award ceremony: Such as Züli Aladag, Verena Altenberger, Florian Bartholomäi, Edward Berger, Vicki Berlin, Detlev Buck, Welket Bungué, Katja von Garnier, Jan-Ole Gerster, Hendrik Handloegten, Sheri Hagen, Sherwan Haji, Jessica Hausner, Julia von Heinz, Banafshe Hourmazdi, Burghart Klaußner, Baltasar Kormákur, Jakob Lass, Dani Levy, Jeanine Meerapfel, Susanne Regina Meures, Aslı Özge, Christiane Paul, Jenny Schily, Maria Schrader, Faraz Shariat, Sven Taddicken, Saralisa Volm, and many others.

    Please find an overview of all broadcasting and streaming partner.

    Please find more information on all nominees and already announced winners (Excellence AwardsHonorary AwardEuropean Lifetime Achievement AwardEuropean Achievement in World Cinema Award,  Eurimages International Co-Production AwardEuropean Sustainability Award – Prix Film4Climate.

    The annual Academy Selection is based on and reflects the excellent quality of each film. During the selection process the Diversity & Inclusion Standards of the European Film Academy have been taken into consideration.

    The European Film Awards honour the greatest achievements in European cinema. The ceremony of the European Film Awards – the most renowned and prestigious award for European film – is presented by the European Film Academy and European Film Academy Productions.


    Here you can find further information as well as printable stills for download.