The winners of the European Film Awards 2022

    Tonight, the European Film Awards celebrated their 35th edition of Europe’s most prestigious and renowned award honouring the best of European cinema. The winners were being revealed during the grand gala show at Reykjavík’s Harpa concert hall in front of 1,250 international guests. With four awards TRIANGLE OF SADNESS was the big winner of the night. The award show is the dazzling highlight of the European Film Academy’s newly launched initiative Month of European Film that kicked-off four weeks earlier.

    The winners of the European Film Awards 2022 are:

    European Film
    TRIANGLE OF SADNESS directed by Ruben Östlund, produced by Erik Hemmendorff & Philippe Bober (Sweden/ Germany/ France/ United Kingdom)

    European Documentary
    MARIUPOLIS 2 directed by Mantas Kvedaravičius (Lithuania/ France/ Germany)

    European Director
    Ruben Östlund for TRIANGLE OF SADNESS

    European Actress
    Vicky Krieps in CORSAGE

    European Actor
    Zlatko Burić in TRIANGLE OF SADNESS

    European Screenwriter
    Ruben Östlund for TRIANGLE OF SADNESS

    European Discovery – Prix FIPRESCI
    This award is presented in co-operation with FIPRESCI, the International Federation of Film Critics to a director for a first full-length feature film.
    SMALL BODY (PICCOLO CORPO) directed by Laura Samani (Italy/ Slovenia/ France)

    European Comedy:
    THE GOOD BOSS (EL BUEN PATRÓN) directed by Fernando León de Aranoa (Spain)

    European Animated Feature Film:
    NO DOGS OR ITALIANS ALLOWED (INTERDIT AUX CHIENS ET AUX ITALIENS) directed by Alain Ughetto (France, Italy, Belgium, Switzerland, Portugal)

    European Short Film:
    GRANNY’S SEXUAL LIFE (BABIČINO SEKSUALNO ŽIVLJENJE) directed by Urška Djukić & Émilie Pigeard (Slovenia, France)
    The winners of the Excellence Awards in the categories ‘European Cinematography’, ‘Editing’, ‘Production Design’, ‘Costume Design’, ‘Make-up & Hair’, ‘Original Score’, ‘Sound’ and ‘Visual Effects’ as well as the winners of the ‘European Lifetime Achievement’, the ‘European Achievement in World Cinema’, the ‘European Innovative Storytelling’, the newly introduced ‘European Sustainability Award – Prix Film4Climate’, the ‘Eurimages Co-Production Award’, the ‘European University Award (EUFA)’ and the ‘Young Audience Award’ have already been announced earlier and were honoured in Reykjavík.

    Please find all winners here.

    The European Film Awards also included the announcement of the nominations for LUX – The European Audience Film Award, presented by the European Parliament and the European Film Academy and in partnership with the European Commission and Europa Cinemas.

    These are the nominated films:

    ALCARRÀS directed by Carla Simón (Spain, Italy)
    BURNING DAYS (KURAK GÜNLER) directed by Emin Alper (Turkey, France, Germany, The Netherlands, Greece, Croatia)
    CLOSE directed by Lukas Dhont (Belgium, France, Netherlands)
    TRIANGLE OF SADNESS directed by Ruben Östlund (Sweden, Germany, France, UK)
    WILL-O’-THE-WISP (FOGO-FÁTUO) directed by João Pedro Rodrigues (Portugal, France)
    The journey for the LUX nominees only starts now. The European audience together with the Members of the European Parliament can watch and rate until June 2023. The five nominated films will be subtitled in all the 24 EU languages to be accessible to the widest audience possible. During a “watch, rate & win” period (from mid-December to mid-June) the nominated films will be screened and rated online. The winner will be determined by the general public and the Members of the European Parliament (each holding 50% of the vote). For more information go to

    The ceremony of the European Film Awards – the most renowned and prestigious award for European film – is presented by the European Film Academy and European Film Academy Productions.