The best of European cinema: Here come the winners for the European Film Awards 2023

    The winners of the European Film Awards 2023 are:European Film:Winner: ANATOMY OF A FALL (ANATOMIE D’UNE CHUTE) directed by Justine Triet, produced by Marie-Ange Luciani & David Thion (France)

    • FALLEN LEAVES (KUOLLEET LEHDET) directed by Aki Kaurismäki, produced by Aki Kaurismäki, Misha Jaari, Mark Lwoff & Reinhard Brundig (Finland, Germany)
    • GREEN BORDER (ZIELONA GRANICA) directed by Agnieszka Holland, produced by Marcin Wierzchosławski, Fred Bernstein & Agnieszka Holland (Poland, France, Czech Republic, Belgium)
    • ME CAPTAIN (IO CAPITANO) directed by Matteo Garrone, produced by Matteo Garrone, Paolo Del Brocco, Ardavan Safaee & Joseph Rouschop (Italy, Belgium)
    • THE ZONE OF INTEREST directed by Jonathan Glazer, produced by James Wilson & Ewa Puszczyńska (United Kingdom, Poland, USA)

    European Documentary:Winner: SMOKE SAUNA SISTERHOOD (SAVVUSANNA SÕSARAD) directed by Anna Hints (Estonia, France, Iceland)

    • APOLONIA, APOLONIA directed by Lea Glob (Denmark, Poland)
    • FOUR DAUGHTERS (LES FILLES D’OLFA) directed by Kaouther Ben Hania (France, Tunisia, Germany, Saudi Arabia)
    • MOTHERLAND directed by Hanna Badziaka & Alexander Mihalkovich (Sweden, Ukraine, Norway)
    • ON THE ADAMANT (SUR L’ADAMANT) directed by Nicolas Philibert (France, Japan)

    European Director:Winner: Justine Triet for ANATOMY OF A FALL

    • Aki Kaurismäki for FALLEN LEAVES
    • Agnieszka Holland for GREEN BORDER
    • Matteo Garrone for ME CAPTAIN
    • Jonathan Glazer for THE ZONE OF INTEREST


    European Actress:Winner: Sandra Hüller in ANATOMY OF A FALL

    • Alma Pöysti in FALLEN LEAVES
    • Mia McKenna-Bruce in HOW TO HAVE SEX
    • Leonie Benesch in THE TEACHERS’ LOUNGE
    • Sandra Hüller in THE ZONE OF INTEREST

    European Actor:Winner: Mads Mikkelsen in THE PROMISED LAND

    • Thomas Schubert in AFIRE
    • Jussi Vatanen in FALLEN LEAVES
    • Josh O’Connor in LA CHIMERA
    • Christian Friedel in THE ZONE OF INTEREST

    European Screenwriter:Winner: Justine Triet & Arthur Harari for ANATOMY OF A FALL

    • Aki Kaurismäki for FALLEN LEAVES
    • Maciej Pisuk, Gabriela Łazarkiewicz-Sieczko & Agnieszka Holland for GREEN BORDER
    • İlker Çatak & Johannes Duncker for THE TEACHERS’ LOUNGE
    • Jonathan Glazer for THE ZONE OF INTEREST

    European Discovery – Prix FIPRESCI:This award is presented in co-operation with FIPRESCI, the International Federation of Film Critics, to a director for the first full-length feature film.Winner: HOW TO HAVE SEX directed by Molly Manning Walker (United Kingdom, Greece)

    • 20,000 SPECIES OF BEES (20.000 ESPECIES DE ABEJAS) directed by Estibaliz Urresola Solaguren (Spain)
    • LA PALISIADA (ЛЯ ПАЛІСІАДА) directed by Philip Sotnychenko (Ukraine)
    • SAFE PLACE (SIGURNO MJESTO) directed by Juraj Lerotić (Croatia, Slovenia)
    • THE QUIET MIGRATION (STILLE LIV) directed by Malene Choi (Denmark)
    • VINCENT MUST DIE (VINCENT DOIT MOURIR) directed by Stéphan Castang (France, Belgium)

    European Animated Feature Film:Winner: ROBOT DREAMS directed by Pablo Berger (Spain, France)

    • A GREYHOUND OF A GIRL directed by Enzo d’Alò (Luxembourg, Italy, Ireland, United Kingdom, Latvia, Estonia, Germany)
    • CHICKEN FOR LINDA! directed by Chiara Malta and Sébastien Laudenbach (France, Italy)
    • THE AMAZING MAURICE directed by Toby Genkel (Germany, United Kingdom)
    • WHITE PLASTIC SKY directed by Tibor Bánóczkia and Sarolta Szabó (Hungary, Slovakia)

    European Short Film:Winner: HARDLY WORKING directed by Total Refusal: Susanna Flock, Robin Klengel, Leonhard Müllner and Michael Stumpf (Austria)

    • 27 directed by Flóra Anna Buda (France, Hungary)
    • AQUERONTE directed by Manuel Muñoz Rivas (Spain)
    • FLORES DEL OTRO PATIO directed by Jorge Cadena (Switzerland, Colombia)

    European Young Audience AwardWinner: SCRAPPER directed by Charlotte Regan (United Kingdom) – fiction

    • LONGING FOR THE WORLD (L’AMOUR DU MONDE) directed by Jenna Hasse (Switzerland) – fiction
    • ONE IN A MILLION directed by Joya Thome (Germany) – documentary

    The winners of the Excellence Awards in the categories ‘European Cinematography’, ‘Editing’, ‘Production Design’, ‘Costume Design’, ‘Make-up & Hair’, ‘Original Score’, ‘Sound’ and ‘Visual Effects’ as well as the winners of the ‘European Lifetime Achievement’, the ‘European Honorary Award’, the ‘European Achievement in World Cinema’, the ‘European Sustainability Award – Prix Film4Climate’, the ‘Eurimages International Co-Production Award’, the ‘European University Award (EUFA)’ and the ‘Young Audience Award’ have already been announced earlier and were honoured tonight in Berlin.

    Please find all winners here. The ceremony of the European Film Awards – the most renowned and prestigious award for European film – is presented by the European Film Academy and European Film Academy Productions.

    We want to hear from you! Take part in our survey