FLEE Wins European University Film Award (EUFA)

    The European Film Academy (EFA) and Filmfest Hamburg congratulate FLEE by Jonas Poher Rasmussen, winner of the European University Film Award 2021.


    The nominated films were viewed and discussed in 26 universities in 26 countries and each institution selected its favourite film. One student representative from each university then attended a three-day deliberation meeting to decide on the overall winner.

    To quote the jury: “Jonas Poher Rasmussen’s animated documentary FLEE untangles Amin’s memories as he unveils his own story from fleeing Afghanistan as a child to growing up openly gay in Denmark. The blend of different animation styles layered with the real voice of the protagonist and archival footage brings a surprising sense of realism to the film. The emotional connection to Amin’s story calls attention to the first-world ignorance of the stark reality for refugees and makes audiences reflect on their own position in society. FLEE is a unique artistic exploration of how trauma affects one’s sense of self while also bringing us to the conundrum of universal sense of belonging and home.”

    The aim of this initiative by the European Film Academy (EFA) and Filmfest Hamburg is to involve a younger audience, to spread the “European idea” and to transport the spirit of European cinema to an audience of university students. It shall also support film dissemination, film education and the culture of debating.

    The European University Film Award 2021 is made possible with the support of Hamburg Marketing and Alfred Toepfer Stiftung F.V.S.

    The European Film Awards Ceremony will take place on Saturday, 11 December at 19.00 CET. The livestream can be followed on and through many partners all over Europe. The Ceremony will also be covered on the social media channels of the European Film Awards on Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook.

    Berlin, 8 December