Press Releases

Don't Let Oleg Die!

24 Mai 2018

Today is Day 12 of Ukrainian filmmaker Oleg Sentsov's indefinite hunger strike which his lawyer Dimitri Dinze reports he full plans to follow through to the death should his demands not be met. Oleg Sentsov, who was involved in supporting the Euro Maidan protests in Kiev and who opposed the annexation of Crimea by Russia, was arrested by the Federal Security Service of the....[...]

WALLAY Wins EFA Young Audience Award 2018

06 Mai 2018

Young Juries in 34 European Countries Elect WALLAY by Berni Goldblat. In a truly European vote, 12-14-year-olds in 43 cities across Europe and beyond have elected WALLAY as the winner of the EFA Young Audience Award 2018.  WALLAY Having watched the three nominated films, more than 2,000 young cinema-lovers across Europe had the opportunity to discuss the films before....[...]

The 7th EFA Young Audience Award Includes Record 45 Cities in 36 Countries

27 Februar 2018

Young Juries Across Europe Screen Nominated Films GIRL IN FLIGHT, HOBBYHORSE REVOLUTION and WALLAY – all of which will then be available as VOD for the general public The European Film Academy (EFA) proudly announces and congratulates the three nominees for the EFA Young Audience Award 2018:   GIRL IN FLIGHTLA FUGA - GIRL IN FLIGHT DIRECTED BY: Sandra....[...]


09 Dezember 2017

The more than 3,000 members of the European Film Academy – filmmakers from across Europe – have voted for this year’s European Film Awards. At the awards ceremony in Berlin the following awards were presented:EUROPEAN FILM 2017THE SQUAREWRITTEN & DIRECTED BY Ruben ÖstlundPRODUCED BY Erik Hemmendorff & Philippe BoberEUROPEAN COMEDY 2017THE SQUAREWRITTEN & DIRECTED....[...]

HEARTSTONE Wins European University Film Award (EUFA) 2017

08 Dezember 2017

The European Film Academy (EFA) and Filmfest Hamburg congratulate HEARTSTONE by Guðmundur Arnar Guðmundsson, winner of the European University Film Award 2017. The award will be presented tonight, Friday, 8 December, in the framework of the European Film Awards Weekend in Berlin, at the welcome reception hosted by the Creative Europe Desks.The nominated films were viewed....[...]