Press Releases

Jury Unveils First Eight EFA Winners

15 November 2018

The European Film Academy and EFA Productions announce the first winners who will be honoured at this year’s European Film Awards. A special eight-member jury convened in Berlin and, based on the EFA Feature Film Selection, decided on the winners in the categories cinematography, editing, production design, costume design, hair & make-up, composer, sound design and, for....[...]

Nominations for the European Film Awards 2018

10 November 2018

At the Seville European Film Festival, the European Film Academy and EFA Productions proudly announced the nominations for the 31st European Film Awards. The more than 3,500 EFA Members will now vote for the winners who will be presented during the awards ceremony on 15 December in Seville. Nominated are:EUROPEAN FILM 2018: BORDER GRÄNS Sweden, Denmark....[...]

New Short Film Selection & Awarding Procedure

30 Oktober 2018

More Festivals in More Countries to Select Candidates for the EFA Short Film Category For the 2019 and 2020 editions of the European Film Awards, the European Film Academy will welcome new festivals to participate in the EFA Short Film selection and awarding procedure. Joining the network of 15 already existing partner festivals, at each festival an independent jury will....[...]

EFA Board Thanks European Parliament for Oleg Sentsov’s Sakharov Prize

25 Oktober 2018

The Board of the European Film Academy wishes to express its profound gratitude toward the European Parliament for awarding the Ukrainian filmmaker Oleg Sentsov, jailed in Russia, with the Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought. “We thank the European Parliament,” says EFA Chairwoman Agnieszka Holland, “for this recognition of a man who not only believes in human rights but....[...]

Animation and Comedy Nominations

23 Oktober 2018

The European Film Academy proudly announces the nominations for the award categories EUROPEAN ANIMATED FEATURE FILM 2018 and EUROPEAN COMEDY 2018.  The nominations for the category COMEDY were determined by a committee comprised of EFA Board Members Angeles González-Sinde (Spain), Henning Kamm (Germany) and Ada Solomon (Romania), director Hannes Holm (Sweden) and....[...]