Let's Go Vote!

European filmmakers launch a manifesto stressing the importance of voting in the upcoming European elections. This manifesto is signed by 500 personalities from the cinema world, including Jacques Audiard, Julie Bertuccelli, Susanne Bier, Costa-Gavras, Luc and Jean-Pierre Dardenne, Julie Delpy, Ralph Fiennes, Stephen Frears, Valeria Golino, Miguel Gomes, Agnieszka Holland, Alan Parker, Pawel Pawlikowski, Céline Sciamma, Jim Sheridan, Stellan Skarsgaard, Wim Wenders and many others.

The manifesto was initiated by the French Film Directors' Guild (SRF), the Directors’ Fortnight, the European Film Academy (EFA), the Federation of European Film Directors (FERA) and the Society of Audiovisual Authors (SAA).

They stress the high importance of these elections, both for fundamental rights and for freedom of creation: “A free and democratic Europe is also a Europe of free thought and freedom of expression. It is our duty to defend it against the rise of extremism and any temptation to downplay the importance of culture, which is an essential cornerstone of the union. From 23 to 26 May, let’s go vote!” Read the full manisto here.

Press contact: Directors’ Fortnight – Catherine Giraud – catgiraud(at)gmail.com 

Cannes & Berlin, 21 May 2019