European Short Film Candidate from Berlinale

The European Film Academy (EFA) and the Berlin International Film Festival/Berlinale Shorts congratulate:

Berlin Short Film Candidate
by Irene Moray
Spain, fiction, 22 min


Barbara and Pol spend a few days on holiday with a group of friends in a house surrounded by nature. They want to have a good time and find a peaceful space where they can enjoy their intimacy. With the support of Pol, in the midst of nature, between tears and laughter, Barbara will heal old wounds and redefine her sexuality.

"My aim with this film is to present an alternative narrative of a woman who overcomes an experience of sexual abuse. When people talk about this reality the focus is always on the trauma instead of in the chance of healing, and I wanted to bring a new perspective on the topic, with more light and hope. Also I wanted to show a healthy relationship between the two protagonists, based on respect, compassion and trust“, says director Irene Moray.

The international short film jury consisted of Jeffrey Bowers (USA), Senior Curator at Vimeo, Vanja Kaludjercic (Croatia), Director of Acquisitions at the streaming platform MUBI, and Koyo Kouoh (Senegal), arts curator, founder and artistic director of RAW Material Company in Senegal.

WATERMELON JUICE is now a candidate for a nomination in the category 'European Short Film' at the 32nd European Film Awards.

The EFA Short Film Programme is organised by the European Film Academy in co-operation with a series of film festivals throughout Europe. At each of these festivals, an independent jury presents one of the European short films in competition with a candidacy in the short film category of the European Film Awards.

The next candidate for 2019 will be presented in co-operation with Tampere Film Festival.

When the annual cycle is completed, a committee appointed by the EFA Board will nominate five short films from this list. Afterwards, the more than 3,500 EFA Members – film professionals from all over Europe – will vote for the overall winner that will be presented at the 32nd European Film Awards Ceremony in Berlin.

Berlin, 16 February 2019