Seville is Getting Ready: The Line-Up for the 2018 EFAs

Only three more days before European filmmakers, EFA Members, guests, nominees and winners will gather to celebrate European cinema at its finest at the 31st European Film Awards in Seville!

The EFA Hosts 2018: Rossy de Palma, Ashraf Barhoum, Amira Casar, Anamaria Marinca, Ivan Shvedoff and Tom Wlaschiha

To represent Europe’s diversity, this year’s EFA Ceremony will see six actresses and actors leading through the evening: Rossy de Palma (Spain), Ashraf Barhom (Israel), Amira Casar (France), Anamaria Marinca (Romania), Ivan Shvedoff (Russia) and Tom Wlaschiha (Germany).

Joining them onstage to announce and present the winners of the European Film Awards in a total of 22 categories will be actresses Victoria Abril (Spain), Hanna Alström (Sweden), Alexandra Borbély (Slovakia/Hungary), Anna Geislerová (Czech Republic), Vicky Krieps (Luxembourg) and Emmanuelle Seigner (France), and their male colleagues Carlos Areces (Spain), Chiwetel Ejiofor (UK), Alexander Fehling (Germany) and Nahuel Pérez Biscayart (France-based Argentinian), as well as legendary Irish filmmaker Jim Sheridan and Wim Wenders, the President of the European Film Academy.  

Live musical acts will bring great Andalusian performers onto the stage: Sevillian choreographer and dancer Andrés Marín and flamenco singer Rocío Marques.

Ralph Fiennes will be honoured with the European Achievement in World Cinema award, Carmen Maura will receive this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award and Costa-Gavras the Honorary Award of the EFA President and Board, an award that has only been presented four times before. The Greek producers Konstantinos Kontovrakis and Giorgos Karnavas will get the EURIMAGES Co-Production Award, an award acknowledging the decisive role of co-productions in fostering international exchange.

Among the guests at the ceremony will also be nominated directors like Ali Abbasi (BORDER), Lukas Dhont (GIRL), Matteo Garrone (DOGMAN), Samuel Maoz (FOXTROT), Paweł Pawlikowski (COLD WAR) and Alice Rohrwacher (HAPPY AS LAZZARO), actresses Marie Bäumer (3 DAYS IN QUIBERON), Halldóra Geirharðsdóttir (WOMAN AT WAR), Bárbara Lennie (PETRA), Eva Melander (BORDER) and Alba Rohrwacher (HAPPY AS LAZZARO) and actors Jakob Cedergren (THE GUILTY), Rupert Everett (THE HAPPY PRINCE), Marcello Fonte (DOGMAN), Sverrir Gudnason (BORG/MCENROE), Tomasz Kot (COLD WAR) and Victor Polster (GIRL).

While the 16,00 guests at Teatro de la Maestranza arrive at the beautiful theatre, the livestream on will already begin at 17.30, with podcasters Jake Cunningham and Sam Howlett leading through EFA’s own programme which includes a red carpet studio with German film journalist Knut Elstermann.

Seville, 12 December 2018