Five Films Nominated for European University Film Award (EUFA)

The European Film Academy and Filmfest Hamburg take great pleasure in announcing the five nominated films for the European University Film Award (EUFA). Introduced in 2016, this award is presented by university students from across Europe. Based on the lists of 49 feature films and 15 documentaries from the EFA Selections 2018 a committee consisting of Dagmar Brunow (film scholar, Sweden), Mike Goodridge (producer & festival director, UK) and Christophe Leparc (festival director, France) has decided on the following nominations:

Israel, Germany, France, Switzerland
WRITTEN & DIRECTED BY Samuel Maoz      
PRODUCED BY Michael Weber, Viola Fügen, Eitan Mansuri, Cedomir Kolar, Marc Baschet & Michel Merkt


Italy, France, Germany, Switzerland
WRITTEN & DIRECTED BY Alice Rohrwacher
PRODUCED BY Carlo Cresto-Dina, Tiziana Soudani, Alexandra Henochsberg, Grégory Gajos, Arthur Hallereau, Pierre-François Piet, Michel Merkt, Michael Weber & Viola Fügen

Germany, Austria
DIRECTED BY Wolfgang Fischer
WRITTEN BY Wolfgang  Fischer & Ika Künzel
PRODUCED BY Marcos Kantis, Martin Lehwald & Michal Pokorny


Romania, France
DIRECTED BY Alexandru Solomon
PRODUCED BY Ada Solomon, Cedric Bonin & Pascaline Geoffroy

U - JULY 22
DIRECTED BY Erik Poppe   
WRITTEN BY Siv Rajendram Eliassen & Anna Bache-Wiig
PRODUCED BY Stein B. Kvae & Finn Gjerdrum

The nominated films will be viewed and discussed in 23 universities in 23 countries and each institution will select its favourite film. In early December, one student representative from each university will attend a three-day deliberation meeting to decide on the overall winner. The winner will then be announced on 6 December and the presentation will take place on 14 December, on the eve of the 31st European Film Awards on 15 December in Seville.

The aim of this initiative by the European Film Academy (EFA) and Filmfest Hamburg is to involve a younger audience, to spread the “European idea” and to transport the spirit of European cinema to an audience of university students. It shall also support film dissemination, film education and the culture of debating.

The European University Film Award 2018 is made possible with the support of the Joachim Herz Stiftung, the Federal Agency for Civic Education and the Canadian Embassy – as the project originated from Canada – and in close collaboration with NECS–European Network for Cinema and Media Studies.

Hamburg and Berlin, 25 September 2018