THE INVISIBLE BOY Wins Young Audience Award 2015

Children in 25 European Cities Elect Italian Film by Gabriele Salvatores
In a truly European vote, 12-14-year-olds in

  • Aalborg/Denmark
  • Amsterdam/the Netherlands
  • Athens/Greece
  • Barcelona/Spain
  • Belgrade/Serbia
  • Bratislava/Slovakia
  • Budapest/Hungary
  • Cluj/Romania
  • Erfurt/Germany
  • Istanbul/Turkey
  • Izola/Slovenia
  • Kiev/Ukraine
  • London/UK
  • Malmö/Sweden
  • Prizren/Kosovo
  • Riga/Latvia
  • Skopje/FYR Macedonia
  • Sofia/Bulgaria
  • Tallinn/Estonia
  • Tbilisi/Georgia
  • Tel Aviv/Israel
  • Turin/Italy
  • Valletta/Malta
  • Wroclaw/Poland
  • Zagreb/Croatia

have elected THE INVISIBLE BOY by Gabriele Salvatores (Italy) as the winner of the European Film Academy Young Audience Award 2015.

 Screenwriter Stefano Sardo with the EFA Young Audience Award 2015 for THE INVISIBLE BOY (picture: Carlo Bansini)

Having watched the three nominated films on today’s Young Audience Film Day, the young cinema-lovers across Europe had the opportunity to discuss the films before electing their favourite. The results were then reported live via video conference to Erfurt (Germany) where German TV host, author and director Thomas Hermanns moderated the awards ceremony transmitted online as a live stream. EFA Director Marion Döring presented the award to screenwriter Stefano Sardo who said: “Thank you so much, this was unexpected! We made a film for kids and we’re sooo happy that they like it!”

This year’s fourth edition of the EFA Young Audience Award with a record 25 participating countries was realised with the following partners: Art Fest (Bulgaria), BFI British Film Institute, BUFF (Sweden), Children KinoFest (Ukraine), Cinematheque Tel Aviv (Israel), Creative Europe Desk Malta&  Culture Directorate Ministry for Justice, Culture and Local Government (Malta), DokuFest (Kosovo), EducaTIFF (Romania), Estonian Film Institute, EYE Film Institute Netherlands, Film Center Serbia, Filmoteca de Catalunya (Spain), German Children’s Media Foundation GOLDEN SPARROW, Hellenic Film Academy (Greece), Hungarian National Film Fund, Macedonian Film Agency, Museo Nazionale del Cinema & Film Commission Torino Piemonte (Italy), National Film Centre of Latvia, New Horizons Association (Poland), NNLE Noosfera Foundation (Georgia), Otok - Institute for the Development of Film Culture (Slovenia), University College Northern Jutland, The Centre for Educational Resources (Denmark), Visegrad Film Forum (Slovakia), Yapimlab & Edge (Turkey) and Zagreb Film Festival (Croatia).  

The European Film Academy Young Audience Award is organised and presented by the European Film Academy and EFA Productions with the support of the Mitteldeutsche Medienförderung (MDM). The DCP production is supported by dcinex, Ymagis Group. Media partner was FRED FM Film Radio.