Vienna Short Film Candidate: BELLA

The European Film Academy and the VIENNA SHORTS – International Short Film Festival congratulate:

Candidate of Vienna Shorts – International Short Film Festival
Greece, 24 min
DIRECTED BY Thelyia Petraki

Just before the Berlin Wall came tumbling down, at the end of the Cold War. Everything is changing in front of Anthi’s eyes and Christos seems to be changing too. BELLA is the story of a moment in time recreated as if in a feverish dream where fiction and documentary overlap perfectly, creating a striking and emotional cinematographic universe. 

BELLA was chosen by the festival's international FIDO jury comprised of film programmer Marina Kožul (Croatia), producer Stella Händler (Switzerland) and comedian Hosea Ratschiller (Austria). In their statement, they say: "Creating a versed and candid period film with a remarkable protagonist, this work is an account of idealism and passion, in both private and public life, with great fragility but also with immense power. With decades behind us that have been empowering individualism and provoking different kinds of alienation, this film could serve as a reminder that in times of crisis, all people long for is care, support, companionship, and a strong sense of hope."

The film is now a candidate for a nomination in the category 'European Short Film' at the European Film Awards 2021.

The EFA Short Film Programme is organised by the European Film Academy and EFA Productions in co-operation with a series of film festivals throughout Europe. At each of these festivals, an independent jury presents one of the European short films in competition with a candidacy in the short film category of the European Film Awards.

This is the 14th short film candidate for 2021. When the annual cycle is completed, the participating festivals will nominate five short films from this list. Afterwards, the 4,000 EFA Members – film professionals from all over Europe – will vote for the overall winner that will be presented at the 34th European Film Awards Ceremony.

Berlin, 2 June 2021