The Line-Up for the 2019 EFAs: Hosts, Presenters, Guests

Only four more days before European filmmakers, EFA Members, guests, nominees and winners will gather to celebrate European cinema at its finest at the 32nd European Film Awards in Berlin!

Anna Brüggemann (picture: Kimi Palme)     Aistė Diržiūtė (picture: Vika Paskelyte)

Leading through the EFA Ceremony 2019 will be two talented European actresses: Anna Brüggemann and Aistė Diržiūtė. Known as one of the most versatile actresses in Germany, Anna Brüggemann is also an established screenwriter who won a Berlinale Silver Bear. Former Shooting Star from Lithuania, Aistė Diržiūtė can change seamlessly from Lithuanian to Russian and English and is best known for her role as Austė in THE SUMMER OF SANGAILE.

Presenting the awards in a total of 23 categories will be a great line-up of European filmmakers, among them actresses Agata Buzek (Poland), Josefine Frida (Norway), Hera Hilmar (Iceland), Joanna Kulig (European Actress 2018, Poland), Eva Melander (Sweden), Daphne Patakia (Belgium-Greece), Benedetta Porcaroli (Italy), Sarina Radomski (Germany) and Adriana Ugarte (Spain).

They will be joined by actors Claes Bang (European Actor 2017, Denmark), Jakob Cedergren (Denmark), Julius Feldmeier (Germany), Alex Lawther (UK) and Milan Marić (Serbia), directors Claire Denis (France), Nino Kirtadzé (France), Rosa von Praunheim (Germany) and David Yates (UK), EFA Chairwoman Agnieszka Holland and EFA President Wim Wenders.

Berlin-based German filmmaker Dietrich Brüggemann is the creative director behind the 32nd European Film Awards, handling both stage direction and script. Writer and script consultant Volker Ferenz skilfully put together all presentation texts with a great passion for film.

French actress Juliette Binoche will be honoured with the European Achievement in World Cinema award, Werner Herzog will receive this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award and Ankica Jurić Tilić will get the EURIMAGES Co-Production Award 2019.

The ceremony will be streamed live at, starting at 17.00 with interviews from the red carpet studio with German journalist Milena Fessmann and continue with the ceremony from 19.00. The EFAs will also be transmitted by 35 stations and platforms across Europe (check list here).


Berlin, 3 December 2019