Clermont-Ferrand Nominates SHAME

The European Film Academy (EFA) and Clermont-Ferrand International Short Film Festival congratulate:  

Clermont-Ferrand Short Film Nominee 
by Petar Krumov 
Bulgaria, fiction, 24 min 

Macho is a poor boy who skips school to work on a construction site. The only ray of light in his life is his girlfriend, Donna. But she is ashamed of his mother, who works as a cleaner in their school. Macho has to choose between his mother and his love, and he finds his own way to deal with his emotions.

The jury consisted of French editor Nadia Ben Rachid, Taiwanese filmmaker, scriptwriter & producer Midi Z, Irish photographer, filmmaker & writer Seamus Murphy, Argentianian filmmaker, scriptwriter & producer Gustavo Taretto  and Dominique de Rivaz, scriptwriter, filmmaker, photographer & author from Switzerland.

The film is now nominated for the award 'European Short Film 2018'. It joins the following films which were already nominated:

Valladolid  Short Film Nominee

by Pablo Muñoz Gomez
France/Belgium, fiction, 15 min

Uppsala Short Film Nominee

by Reber Dosky
The Netherlands, documentary, 16 min

Cork Short Film Nominee
by Sebastian Lang
Germany, fiction, 30 min

Leuven Short Film Nominee 
by Pavlo Ostrikov
Ukraine, fiction, 19 min

Rotterdam Short Film Nominee 
by Heather Phillipson
UK, experimental, 8 min

The EFA Short Film Programme is organised by the European Film Academy in co-operation with a series of film festivals throughout Europe. At each of these festivals, an independent jury presents one of the European short films in competition with a nomination in the short film category of the European Film Awards. 

The next nomination for 2018 will be presented in co-operation with Berlin International Film Festival.

When the annual cycle is completed, the nominees will be presented to the more than 3,000 members of the European Film Academy and it is they who will elect the overall winner: the European Short Film 2018 which will be presented at the 31st European Film Awards Ceremony on 15 December in Seville. 

Berlin, 12 February 2018