Rotterdam Nominates WHAT'S THE DAMAGE

The European Film Academy (EFA) and the International Film Festival Rotterdam congratulate:  

Rotterdam Short Film Nominee 
by Heather Phillipson 
UK, experimental, 8 min 

WHAT’S THE DAMAGE is a proposition and a provocation; a call against dominant power structures answering back to ongoing crises under white patriarchy, relaying and augmenting feelings and gestures of chronic unease, protest and dissent. Spoken word and digital fluidities give Phillipson’s summons and riposte vital form through representations of livid, female bleeding, rising up against leadership circle-jerks, over-groomed toupees, environmental catastrophes, weeping vortexes, scorched orangutans, animal-fat banknotes and advancing super-moons, pizzas and drones.

The jury consisted of Chinese filmmaker Ying Liang, Dutch graphic designer Mieke Gerritzen and Kenyan filmmaker Jim Chuchu, founder of The Nest Collective.

Their statement reads as follows: “There is infinite room in the world for cultural works that dissect, critique and rebuke the ghastly political phenomenon that is Trump, and WHAT’S THE DAMAGE is a worthy addition to that canon. An amazing and original work with unexpected imagery composed as a new aesthetic.”

The film is now nominated for the award 'European Short Film 2018'. It joins the following films which were already nominated:

Valladolid  Short Film Nominee
by Pablo Muñoz Gomez
France/Belgium, fiction, 15 min

Uppsala Short Film Nominee

by Reber Dosky
The Netherlands, documentary, 16 min

Cork Short Film Nominee
by Sebastian Lang
Germany, fiction, 30 min

Leuven Short Film Nominee 
by Pavlo Ostrikov
Ukraine, fiction, 19 min

The EFA Short Film Programme is organised by the European Film Academy in co-operation with a series of film festivals throughout Europe. At each of these festivals, an independent jury presents one of the European short films in competition with a nomination in the short film category of the European Film Awards. 

The next nomination for 2018 will be presented in co-operation with the International Short Film Festival Clermont-Ferrand.

When the annual cycle is completed, the nominees will be presented to the more than 3,000 members of the European Film Academy and it is they who will elect the overall winner: the European Short Film 2018 which will be presented at the 31st European Film Awards Ceremony on 15 December in Seville. 

Berlin, 29 January 2018