EFA Board Initiates Letter to Russian Authorities About Oleg Sentsov

European Filmmakers Express Worry About Fate of Ukrainian Filmmaker Oleg Sentsov

Upon an initiative by the Board of the European Film Academy, an illustrious group of European film professionals has signed the following letter to the Russian authorities:
 Vladimir Vladimirovich Putin - President of Russia
 Sergey Evgenyevich Naryshkin – Chairman of the State Duma of the Russian Federation
 Alexander Wassiljewitsch Bortnikow - Director of the FSB
 Vladimir Aleksandrovich Kolokoltsev - Russian Minister of Internal Affairs
 Vladimir Medinsky - Russian Minister of Culture
 Yuriy Yakovlevich Chaika - Prosecutor General
 According to the information currently available, the Ukrainian filmmaker Oleg Sentsov was arrested by the Federal Security Service of the Russian Federation (FSB) in his house in Simferopol on 11 May and brought to Moscow where he is detained and awaiting trial. There has then not been any official information about the charges brought up against him for almost three weeks.
 We, his undersigning European colleagues, are deeply worried and cannot stop wondering how he is and what his future will be. In the light of these circumstances, we respectfully call upon you

  • to ensure the safety of Oleg Sentsov;
  • to make public the whereabouts of the detained;
  • to have the detained charged with a recognisable offence or released;
  • to instigate a full, prompt and impartial investigation into the apparently arbitrary detention by the FSB in order to bring all those responsible to justice.

 Yours faithfully,

Agustín Almodóvar, producer, Spain
Pedro Almodóvar, director, Spain
Roberto Benigni, actor/director, Italy
Stephen Daldry , director, UK
Mike Downey, producer, UK
Agnieszka Holland, director, Poland
Aki Kaurismäki, director, Finland
Mike Leigh, director, UK
Ken Loach, director, UK
Wojciech Marczewski, director, Poland
Rebecca O’Brien, producer, UK
Daniel Olbrychski, actor, Poland
Antonio Saura, producer, Spain
Volker Schlöndorff, director, Germany
Jerzy Stuhr, actor/director, Poland
Béla Tarr, director, Hungary
Betrand Tavernier, director, France
Andrzej Wajda, director, Poland
Wim Wenders, director, Germany
Krzysztof Zanussi, director, Poland

Berlin, 10 June 2014