European University Film Award (EUFA)

    Presented in co-operation with Filmfest Hamburg, the award actively involves university students, spreads the “European idea” and transports the spirit of European cinema to an audience group of 20-29-year-olds. It also supports film dissemination, film education and the culture of debating. more information

    Based on the EFA FEATURE FILM SELECTION 2021 and the EFA DOCUMENTARY SELECTION 2021, Filmfest Hamburg and EFA nominate five films.

    The five nominated films are viewed in non-commercial closed jury sessions and discussed at the participating universities. The students at each institution select their favourite film.

    In 2021, the following universities are participating:

    • Austria: University of Vienna
    • Belgium: University of Antwerp
    • Czech Republic: Charles University, Prague
    • Denmark: Aarhus University, School of Communication and Culture
    • Finland: University of Turku
    • France: Université Sorbonne Nouvelle Paris 3
    • Germany: Filmuniversität Babelsberg 'Konrad Wolf', Potsdam
    • Greece: University of the Aegean, Mytilini/Lesbos
    • Hungary: Pázmány Péter Catholic University, Budapest
    • Iceland: University of Iceland, Film Studies department, Reykjavík
    • Israel: Steve Tisch School of Cinema and Television Studies at Tel-Aviv University
    • Ireland: University College Cork
    • Italy: University of Udine
    • Kosovo: AAB University, Pristina
    • Latvia: Latvian Academy of Culture, Riga
    • Lithuania: Vilnius University
    • Netherlands: Utrecht University (Dept. of Media and Culture Studies, Media and Performance Studies)
    • Poland: University of Łódź, Department of Media and Audiovisual Culture
    • Portugal: Universidade Beira Interior, Covilhã
    • Romania: Sapientia University, Cluj-Napoca
    • Serbia: Singidunum University, Belgrade
    • Spain: University of the Basque Country, Faculty of Social Sciences and Communication, Bilbao
    • Sweden: Linnaeus University, Växjö
    • Switzerland: Université de Lausanne
    • Turkey: Kadir Has University, Istanbul
    • UK: Liverpool John Moores University

    Further universities may participate.

    The award recipient is selected in a joint session of student representatives from each participating university.

    The public announcement of the winning film takes place prior to the European Film Awards Ceremony.