Founded in 1988, the European Film Academy now unites more than 3,600 European film professionals with the common aim of promoting Europe’s film culture.




The European Film Academy and the Curta Vila do Conde- international Film Festival congratulate: Vila do Conde Short Film Candidate THE MARVELOUS MISADVENTURES OF THE STONE LADYLES EXTRAORDINAIRES MÉSAVENTURES DE LA JEUNE FILLE DE PIERREwritten & directed by Gabriel AbrantesFrance/Portugal, fiction, 20 min At night, as soon as the Louvre Museum's doors close and the....


Hamburg Short Film Candidacy goes to CAVALCADE

The European Film Academy and the Hamburg International Short Film Festival congratulate: Hamburg Short Film Candidate CAVALCADE by Johann Lurf (Austria 2019, experimental, 5 min) The film was selected by the festival's international competition jury consisting of Ana David (festival programmer IndieLisboa, Portugal), Jennifer Reeder (filmmaker, USA),....


Vienna Picks EGG

The European Film Academy and the VIS Vienna Shorts Festival congratulate: Vienna Short Film Candidate EGG by Martina Scarpelli France, animation, 12 min The film was selected by the festival's juries consisting of Jason Anderson (program director of Short Cuts, Toronto IFF, Canada), Sebastian Höglinger (festival director, Diagagonale - Festival des....


Krakow Picks ONE OF MANY as EFA Candidate

The European Film Academy and the Krakow Film Festival congratulate: Krakow Short Film Candidate ONE OF MANY by Vuk Mitevski North Macedonia, animation, 11 min The film was selected by the festival's jury consisting of Xawery Zulawski (director, screenwriter, actor & screenwriter, Poland), Zbigniew Czapla (screenwriter, director, animator, painter &....


Let's Go Vote!

European filmmakers launch a manifesto stressing the importance of voting in the upcoming European elections. This manifesto is signed by 500 personalities from the cinema world, including Jacques Audiard, Julie Bertuccelli, Susanne Bier, Costa-Gavras, Luc and Jean-Pierre Dardenne, Julie Delpy, Ralph Fiennes, Stephen Frears, Valeria Golino, Miguel Gomes, Agnieszka Holland,....


EFA Honours Werner Herzog

On the occasion of this year's 32nd European Film Awards (EFAs) and in recognition of a unique contribution to the world of film, the European Film Academy takes great pleasure in presenting Werner Herzog with the LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD for his outstanding body of work. Born in Munich in 1942, Werner Herzog grew up in a remote valley in the Bavarian mountains. Until age....



Young Juries in 34 Countries Elect FIGHT GIRL by Johan Timmers


New Regulations for European Film Awards

The European Film Academy has changed the selection procedure for feature and documentary films running for the European Film Awards. The EFA Board decided to introduce some modifications which will reduce the amount of selected films, make the selection procedure more democratic and treat all countries equally. There is no longer a national vote to include one national....


Nijmegen Selects HARD ON

The European Film Academy and the Go Short - International Short Film Festival Nijmegen congratulate: Nijmegen Short Film CandidateHARD ONby Joanna RytelSweden, experimental, 19 min The film was selected by the festival's European Competition Jury consisting of  Jonathan Schwenk (Germany), Lisa Ogdie (USA), Jasmijn Schrofer (Netherlands), Polina Medvedeva....


EFA Mourns Agnès Varda

European cinema has lost a great filmmaker and the European Film Academy has lost a dear friend: Agnès Varda Born in Belgium, Agnès Varda was a unique and important voice in French and European cinema. She won virtually every award there is, among them a Silver Bear in Berlin for HAPPINESS (Le Bonheur, 1965), a Golden Lion in Venice for VAGABOND (Sans toit ni loi, 1985),....

Institutional Supporters:




European Short Film Nominees on Tour

next screenings in 
Vila do Conde, Tabor, Palic