2018 Regulations:

The award is presented to the director of a documentary film. Eligible candidates must be born in Europe or hold a European* passport.

A committee of EFA Members and documentary experts selects candidates for the category EUROPEAN DOCUMENTARY. Films taken into consideration must have a minimum length of 70 minutes. They must have had either an official screening at a festival on the list of festivals approved by EFA for this purpose or a theatrical release in at least one European country between 1 June 2017 and 31 May 2018. 

The selected documentaries are made available as VOD to the EFA Members who vote for five nominations, and, based on these, elect the winner. The votes are kept by a notary or an auditor. The winner is announced during the EFA Ceremony.

Deadline to submit documentary films for consideration is 31 May 2018.

Contact for film submission and further information: submission

*  European, in the sense of the European Film Academy, means geographical Europe, both EU and non-EU, and shall include Israeli and Palestinian.