European Film Awards

Every year, the various activities of the European Film Academy culminate in the ceremony of the European Film Awards which are presented jointly with EFA Productions gGmbH. In a total of 22 categories, among them European Film, European Director, European Actress and European Actor, the European Film Awards annually honour the greatest achievements in European cinema.

The awards ceremony takes place in Berlin every second year. In the other years, the Awards travel: London, Paris, Rome, Barcelona, Warsaw, Copenhagen, Tallinn, Malta, Riga ...

The nominations for the 29th European Film Awards were announced on 5 November at the Seville European Film Festival.

This year's 29th European Film Awards will take place in Wroclaw (Poland), European Capital of Culture 2016, on 10 December - streamed live on 

Awards Information

complete list of all Award Categories 

information on eligibility, submission, selection, nomination and election:

Feature Films


Animated Feature Film

Short Films

The People’s Choice Award

EFA Young Audience Award

Download the full regulations for the European Film Awards 2016

Contact for film submission and further information: submission