EFA Young Audience Award 2017

nomination procedure and election of the winner

1. The award is presented to the director of a European* film addressing an audience between 12 and 14 years. Eligible candidates must be born in Europe or hold a European* passport.

2. Eligible films must have had their first official screening (be it at a festival or at a regular cinema) between 1 March and 31 December 2016.

[From 2018 on, the eligibility date will be adjusted to fit the calendar year so that in order to be eligible for the 2018 EFA Young Audience Award films must have had their first official screening in the year 2017.]

3. The criteria whereby a film qualifies as European are based upon the European Convention on Cinematographic Co-production, Appendix II, as detailed in paragraph 2.4 of the Regulations of the European Film Awards.

4. Eligible genres are full-length feature, animation and documentary films.

Deadline for the submission of proposals is 20 January 2017.

Contact for film submission and further information: submission

5. A committee composed of young audience film experts establishes a list of candidates and nominates three films.

6. The nominations will be announced after conclusion of the selection procedure in the beginning of March.

7. The three nominated films will be presented in non-commercial closed jury screenings on the occasion of the Young Audience Film Day on Sunday, 7 May 2017, across Europe.

As of 20 March 2017, this includes:

  • Austria: St. Pölten & Vienna
  • Belgium: Brussels
  • Bosnia & Herzegovina: Sarajevo
  • Bulgaria: Sofia
  • Croatia: Zagreb
  • Czech Republic: Prague
  • Denmark: Aalborg
  • Estonia: Tallinn
  • Finland: Helsinki
  • Germany: Berlin & Erfurt
  • Greece: Athens
  • Hungary: Budapest
  • Israel: Tel Aviv
  • Italy: Florence, Rome & Turin
  • Kosovo: Prizren
  • Latvia: Riga
  • Lithuania: Vilnius
  • Luxembourg: Luxembourg
  • FYI Macedonia: Skopje
  • Malta: Valletta
  • Montenegro: Podgorica
  • The Netherlands: Amsterdam
  • Poland: Łodz, Warsaw & Wroclaw
  • Portugal: Lisbon
  • Romania: Cluj-Napoca
  • Serbia: Belgrade
  • Slovakia: Bratislava
  • Slovenia: Izola
  • Spain: Barcelona
  • Turkey: Istanbul
  • UK: London

Further countries may join the initiative.

8. After the screenings, the young jury members vote for the winner.

9. The winner will be announced on the same day during a ceremony in Erfurt/Germany.

10. The directors of the three nominated films will be invited to Erfurt to attend the ceremony, which will be streamed live on http://yaa.europeanfilmawards.eu

* European in the sense of the European Film Academy, means geographical Europe, both EU and non-EU, and shall include Israeli and Palestinian